CIAA Announces 2018 Hall of Fame Class


 The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) will induct five honorees, including one team, into the 2018 John B. McLendon, Jr. Hall of Fame. A formal induction ceremony will be held at the Hall of Fame Breakfast on Friday, March 2, 2018 at 9:00 a.m. in the Charlotte Convention Center.

The CIAA will induct Kermit Blount, former head football coach of the Winston-Salem State University Rams; Ben Coates, former football standout at Livingstone College; Raymond McDougal, former head golf coach at Fayetteville State University; Dr. Dorothy Cowser Yancy, former President of Shaw University and Johnson C. Smith University; and the 1967 Men’s Basketball Team of Winston-Salem State University. (Read more about the Hall of Fame class...)

The CIAA recognizes inductees for their excellence in the CIAA, significant contributions in the community, leadership in CIAA sports, and commitment to the conference mission. Each honoree is recommended by the CIAA Hall of Fame Committee, endorsed by the Management Council, and approved by the Board of Directors.

Friday morning's induction ceremony is one of many ancillary events surrounding the 2018 CIAA Men's and Women's Basketball Tournament that will be held in Charlotte, North Carolina from February 27 - March 3, 2018. Individual seats and tables of ten for the induction ceremony and celebration breakfast are now on sale and can be purchased using the online registration HERE or by mail via downloadable payment form. Breakfast will be served at 8:00 a.m. with the program to follow at 9:00 a.m.

Get the latest updates